Foxborough, MA– For some time now, the New England Patriots have had a vote open to the fans to determine who the newest inductee to the Patriots Hall of Fame would be. Former left tackle Leon Gray had already been named to the Hall of Fame, thanks to the Senior Selection Committee of The Hall, but it was not yet determined if the fans' vote inductee would be linebacker Mike Vrabel, defensive lineman Richard Seymour, or safety Rodney Harrison. Now, the Patriots organization has officially announced that it is Harrison who will be inducted into The Hall this year.

The team also announced that the ceremony to honor Gray and Harrison as all-time Patriot legends will be held on on July 29 in Patriot Place Plaza outside of Gillette Stadium in Foxborough. Harrison expressed his gratitude for the fan vote in a statement he released that read:

“The fact that the fans voted me in, it means more to me than say the Pro Football Hall of Fame because the fans got a chance to see me play every week. They got a chance to see the story and see the injuries and the adversity and the comeback and the plays that were made and the passion that was shown. They’re not going by reputation or rumors or anything like that, so it really meant a lot to me.”

Harrison is unquestionably a worthy entrant into The Hall, as he patrolled New England's secondary for many seasons and was always a force to be reckoned with. He won two Super Bowls with New England and hauled in the winning interception in 2005's match against the Philadelphia Eagles. Harrison was also no stranger to All-Pro or Pro Bowl selections while in New England, in addition to being named a member of the Patriots 50th Anniversary Team.

Harrison retired as a member of the Patriots. He will join his esteemed teammates like Troy Brown, Tedy Bruschi, and Ty Law as members of that early Patriots run of titles to be elected into The Hall. I can't wait to see Harrison immortalized as a legend. Congratulations, number 37!