LAS VEGAS - Last night, the NHL held its annual awards ceremony to honor the players, coaches, and executives who were the best in their respective categories over the past year. The Kenan Thompson-led event had a lot of fun jokes and a lot of awkward jokes, but it was worth it if only  but ultimately it seemed like a fun gathering for the league as they walked the red carpet and watched Kenan don a Mighty Ducks jersey once again.

The Bruins took home one award, with the title of General Manager of the Year going to Don Sweeney. Sweeney constructed the Bruins team that rebounded from a middling 2017-18 season to make it all the way to the Stanley Cup Finals. He also orchestrated the trade deadline acquisitions of Charlie Coyle and Marcus Johansson, who were among the team's biggest contributors down the stretch run of the season and into the playoffs.

In terms of whom Sweeney was competing against, he battled his championship rival, Doug Armstrong, the general manager of the St. Louis Blues. The third finalist for the award was Don Waddell of the Carolina Hurricanes, another team Boston faced during their post-season run.

The Bruins didn't take home any more hardware. Patrice Bergeron was the only other Bruins nominee, once again finding himself in the top three for the Frank J. Selke Trophy, which honors the best defensive forward in hockey. This was Bergeron's eighth nomination for the Selke, which he's won four times in his career, tying him with Hall of Famer Bob Gainey for the most Selke wins ever, This year, however, he lost to Ryan O'Reilly of the Blues.

None of the other trophies had any Bruins in consideration and the Hart Memorial Trophy, the NHL's equivalent to the MVP award, went to Nikita Kucherov of the Tampa Bay Lightning. Hopefully, with Sweeney at the helm, the Bruins can rack up some more awards next season along with a Stanley Cup, which is the best trophy to have.